Bike News

14 December 2017

KTM 390 Duke is the IMOTY 2018

Yamaha’s FZ25 and Triumph’s Street Triple complete the podium
Car image

The Indian motorcycle industry has come of age and here’s the proof. For the Indian Motorcycle of the Year 2018 award, 12 completely varied motorcycles made the cut for the jury round and that list ranged from a humble 125cc commuter to a 1000cc adventure tourer, with cruisers, street naked and sportsbike of all sizes filling up the space between them. And at the end, it was the KTM 390 Duke that registered a thumping victory, beating the Yamaha FZ25 and the Triumph Street Triple by 30 and 39 points respectively.

These motorcycles were judged across a variety of parameters such as styling, value for money, technical innovation, build quality, performance, practicality, and above all, suitability for Indian riding conditions. Sixteen of India's renowned auto journalists with years of experience came together to form this distinguished panel and hand-picked the most deserving motorcycle. The bikes that made it to the top 5 were; KTM 390 Duke, Yamaha FZ25, Triumph Street Triple, Honda Africa Twin and Bajaj Dominar. Wondering what made the 390 Duke clinch the top honour this year? Well, it was rated highly on its segment defying performance, quality and impressive styling, and the fact that all of this is offered at a surprisingly affordable price.

Announced on December 13, 2017, the IMOTY 2018 marks the 11th year of this celebrated award, which has received unconditional support from title sponsor, JK Tyre, right from its inception. Over the years, IMOTY has become one of the most prestigious awards in the two-wheeler industry.

Dr. Raghupati Singhania, Chairman and Managing Director, JK Tyre & Industries Limited conferred Amit Nandi, Head, KTM India with the coveted trophy of the Indian Motorcycle of the Year 2018 on behalf of the distinguished IMOTY jury. While, Aspi Bhathena, Chairman, IMOTY and Editor, Bike India presented a certificate signed by the entire IMOTY 2018 jury to the winner.

This year's jury consisted of Devesh Shobha and Debabrata Sarkar of Top Gear India, Aspi Bhathena and Sarmad Kadiri from Bike India, Shubhabrata Marmar and Abhay Verma of Overdrive, Kartik Ware and Raunak Ajinkya of Motoring, Sirish Chandran and Aninda Sardar from evo India, Pablo Chaterji representing Man's World India, Arup Das and Jared Solomon of AutoX, Rahul Ghosh and Abhik Das of Auto Today and Vikrant Singh.

What makes IMOTY the most unbiased award is the fact that the jury members get to cast their votes without any external influences or prejudices, through a balanced voting process. No wonder, the IMOTY is the most sought-after awards among the two-wheeler manufacturers of the country.

IMOTY 2018 Contenders
1.Hero Glamour 2017 Edition
2. Suzuki Intruder 150
3. Bajaj Pulsar NS 160
4. Yamaha FZ 25
5. Benelli 302R
6. KTM 390 Duke
7. Bajaj Dominar 400
8. Triumph Bonneville Bobber
9. Harley Davidson Street Rod
10. Triumph Street Triple
11. Honda CRF1000L Africa Twin
12. MV Agusta Brutale 800

Tags: hero, harley davidson, imoty, dominar, ktm 390



We make a trip to the north-eastern end of the country to meet a real Jeep, in one that keeps it real from the current crop