Formula One

03 September 2018

Ashwin, Vishnu continue dominance at JK NRC

They continue to hold the leads in the Euro JK18 and LGB F4 championships

Aatish Mishra
Car image

Round 2 of the JK Tyre National Racing Championship took place over the last weekend. There were four different races — the Euro JK18, the LGB Formula 4, the JK Tyre Novice Cup and the Gixxer Cup being held over the weekend. Here is how things panned out:

Euro JK18
Ashwin Datta came in to round two leading the championship, after managing three podium finishes (but not a single win) in the first round. A total of four races were to be held over the weekend, and it was Nayan Chatterjee who dominated proceedings on Saturday, winning both races while Karthik Tharani placed second in both. Sri Lankan Brayan Perera finished third in the first race, while Ashwin managed to sneak on to the podium in Race 2. On Sunday though, Ashwin managed to put in some better performances that allowed him to maintain that lead of his in the championship. He won the third race of the weekend and placed second in the fourth race.

LGB Formula 4
Vishnu Prasad was leading the championship coming in to this round from Raghul Rangasamy by merely one point. With three races to set the score straight, it was sure to be an entertaining weekend. Vishnu won the first race of the weekend, while Raghul only managed a third-place finish behind Rohit Khanna, thereby extending his lead. He managed to win the second race ahead of Raghul, but Raghul won the third race with Vishnu in second. Khanna finished third in both races.

/jk tyre lgb formula 4 drivers in action during day 1 of 21st jk tyre fmsci national racing championship27s round 2 in coimbatore today.jpg

Novice Cup
The Novice Cup has youngsters racing LGB machines in their own class, and it was Vishwas Vijayaraj from DTS Racing that won the first race, followed by Siddharth Mehdiratta of Momentum Motorsports and Hashim EKP, also from DTS Racing. The second race, however, had Tijil Rao win ahead of Huzaifa Tinwala and Yokeshwaran Krishnavelu.

Gixxer Cup
Joseph Mathew was the runaway winner in the Gixxer Cup races in Round 1, and looked to continue that dominance in the two races over this weekend as well. He won both races of the weekend again, taking maximum possible points in the championship so far. Syed Muzammil Ali finished both races in second while ex-Road to Rookies Cup winner Sachin Chaudhary finished third in Race 1, it was Malasawmdawnglama who finished third in the second race.

The Red Bull Road to Rookies Cup races were held on the same grid as the Gixxer Cup races, and the competition drew to a close this weekend. It was Jerome Vanlalrengpuia who has been selected to head to the Red Bull MotoGP Rookies Cup qualifiers in Spain later this year after finished the two rounds with maximum points.

aizawl27s zothanmawia in action during round 1 of the 21st jk tyre fmsci national racing championship held in coimbatore last month.j

Tags: moto gp, red bull, jk tyre, gixxer, motorsports, nrc, novice cup



When a full-blown off-roader isn’t on your wishlist, and a street bike won’t cut it, what you need is the ideal balance. They’re called scramblers and we help you pick the best one