FMSCI felicitates the champions of 2013

Posted by topgear at 08:16 am on Monday March 10, 2014

The Federation of Motor Sports Clubs of India (FMSCI) held a function in Mumbai this weekend to felicitate the National Champions of 2013. The FMSCI honoured all the champions hailing from various categories like MMSC FMSCI National Racing Championship, FMSCI Indian National Rally Championship, JK Tyre FMSCI National Rotax Max Karting Championship, FMSCI Indian National TSD Rally Championship, FMSCI Indian National Motorcycle Racing Championship and MRF MoGrip FMSCI National Supercross Championship.

Excellence in motorsport categories overseas brought along awards for Narain Karthikeyan, Karun Chandhok, Armaan Ebrahim and Gaurav Gill. Team Mahi Racing was also recognised for winning the constructors' championship in the World Supersport category in its debut year. Sahara Force Academy Driver Jehan Daruvala, the first Indian to win Britain's KF3 Karting Championship was also given an award by the FMSCI. Riders like K Rajni Krishnan, who won the Losail Asia Road Racing Championship, R Deepak and K Jagan were also awarded for their performances.

J Prithviraj, who was only recently elected as the President of FMSCI, spoke about the future of Indian motorsport. He said, "It is important that we honour our champions and show them the respect that they deserve. This is the start of better things to come and we are up to the challenge of taking the sport to greater heights. F1 not looking to India is only a small turbulence which will pass soon and India will be back on the map. I would also like to thank Mr. Gautam Singhania for not only being our Chief Guest but also his commitment to drifting. He has committed a Rolling Trophy with a cash prize for Rs 2 lakhs starting this year for the most promising youngster in our sport".

K Krishnamurthy secured the Lifetime Achievement Award for his commitment to Indian motorsport. A scrutineer since 1968, he has officiated as Chief Scrutineer in all forms of motorsports, right from rallying, to racing, motocross, dirt track racing and so on.

The winner of the Most Promising Motorsport Man of the Year was selected by the council members who had to pick between contenders from racing, rallying, karting and motorcycle racing. Evnetually, it was given to Vishnu Prasad, who won the 2013 JK Tyre-FMSCI National Karting Title in the Senior Max category and the JK Racing India Series title.

TAGS// fmsci

0 Responses to "FMSCI felicitates the champions of 2013"

        No comments

Post a comment

Login Register