Lucas di Grassi is the new Formula E Champion

Posted by sonnyx at 10:53 am on Monday July 31, 2017

The third season of Formula E came to a close this past weekend at the Montreal street circuit and for the third time in a row, the Championship was decided on the last day of the sport's calendar.

ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport's Lucas di Grassi seized the 2016/17 Formula E title from Renault E.Dam's defending champion Sebastian Buemi despite coming into the weekend with a 10-point deficit. The Brazillian had a tough season throughout, racing with an injured ankle one weekend even while Buemi had been racking up points throughout the season, including six race wins. Di Grassi made the most of the New York e-Prix that Buemi had missed to close up the majority of the points gap. But it was his performance in Montreal that sealed the deal, qualifying on pole position and finishing first in the first race while Buemi who had fought his way up to P4 from 14th on the starting grid was disqualified. Going into the final race, Di Grassi was now 18 points clear of Buemi who had another bad qualifying session and a forced run through the pits for a bit of body work hanging off the right rear of his car ended any chances of him winning the title while Di Grassi finished P6 and was seized the Formula E Championship with a 24 point margin.

Though slightly overshadowed by the battle for the championship, there was more big news as Techeetah and Jules Eric Vergne registered their first win in the format on the last race of the season. Clearly, a promising sign for both as they start looking towards the next season. Techeetah, in its debut season, has finished 5th in the Constructor's championship while drivers Vergne and Sarrazin finished 5th and 10th respectively in the driver's standings.

It was another good weekend for Mahindra Racing's rookie, Felix Rosenqvist who had qualified on pole for the last race and finished P2. Though Race 1 in Montreal wasn't the best for him, a P9 finish, he did manage to finish third in the Driver's standings, an impressive season for the rookie racer. Meanwhile, teammate Nick Heidfeld had a DNF in Race 1 and finished P5 in Race 2, for a 7th position finish in the C'ship. Altogether a promising result for the Mahindra team, who finished third in the Constructor's Trophy, behind the Abt Audi team.

DS Virgin finished fourth, in a season that included two race wins secured by Sam Bird who finished fourth in the driver's standings while teammate Lopez finished ninth.

Looking forward to the next season, which will kick off in December at the Hong Kong e-Prix, the sport will have the introduction of the Audi Sport factory team which should bring another level of competitiveness. Meanwhile, Jaguar will have a lot to work on after their dead last finish in their 2016/17 season debut and would definitely be looking to improve significantly. While car development is still mostly uniform and restricted, Team Mahindra will also be aiming for the top spots as their cars and drivers have shown tremendous pace this year. The fourth season may well see Renault finally lose its crown as the top constructor in Formula E with an even closer battle for the Championship.

TAGS// mahindra racing, formula e, audi sport, lucas di grassi, electric racing, renault edams, abt audi, sebastian buemi, e prix, montreal e prix

0 Responses to "Lucas di Grassi is the new Formula E Champion"

        No comments

Post a comment

Login Register