Polo R Cup: KT Singh, B. Thomas win

Posted by Christopher Chaves at 02:02 am on Monday July 14, 2014

The race kicked off with car no.12 driven by Karthik Tharani Singh getting off to a great start from pole position. From there, the lad from Tamil Nadu did exceptionally well to retain top spot ahead of Andhra Pradesh's Anindith Reddy Kunda, Round 1-winning driver Angad Singh Matharoo and Maharashtra's Anshul Manoj Shah till lap 10. On the 10th lap of the 15-lap Race 1, the no.16 Polo driven by Gaurav Mehta crashed heavily going into the parabolica before the last corner, bringing out the red flag. With the race due to restart a short while later, officials took a call to divide the first race into two parts, with the final result being decided by an aggregate of points over the two parts of this race.

After a total of 19:46.427s, it was pole-sitter Karthik Tharani Singh who crossed the finish line first, after avoiding a stray dog out on track on the final lap, to register his first win of the season ahead of Anshul Manoj Shah and Angad Singh Matharoo. But the drama didn't end there. Angad was given a 30-second penalty after executing an illegal overtaking manoeuvre before the start-finish line just after the safety car came into the pits. This penalty meant that he dropped all the way down the order to 11th place, promoting Delhi boy Karminder Pal Singh to third and last year's Junior Cup winner, Yatin Magu, to fourth.

In the reverse-grid race (second race), drivers faced more of a challenge after rain lashed the track in Coimbatore. This forced the use of wet-weather JK tyres, which the drivers had never driven on before. Going into this fourth race of the 2014 season, with the previous three races producing three different race winners, Prabhanjan, who lead the grid, was confident of being the fourth different winner out of four races. But Bonnie Thomas had other ideas.

Thomas raced off to an unassailable lead after getting off to a fantastic start by overtaking Prabhanjan going into the very first corner of the race. Bonnie held fort and went on to become the first driver to win two races this 14 season - after previously having won the second (reverse grid) race in Round 1. Behind him, Yatin Shah, who started in fifth, made his way to second place by lap five, only to lose out to Karminder Pal Singh, who had started sixth on the the same lap. Yatin later faced tremendous pressure from Anshul Manoj Shah, Utsav Shah and Lee Keshav Gupta - all four of them fought toe-to-toe till the very end of the race.

TAGS// volkswagen, polo r cup

0 Responses to "Polo R Cup: KT Singh, B. Thomas win"

        No comments

Post a comment

Login Register