You are here

Indian Baja 2018 to be flagged off on August 17

Dakar – that one word is enough to send shivers down the spines of enthusiasts. And in 2016, we got to witness the madness of Dakar, here on our Indian soil. After completing two successful seasons, the Indian edition of the Dakar is back and is scheduled from August 17 to August 19 in Jaisalmer, Rajasthan.

The riders which will cover a distance of more than 500km, have to face the fury of the Thar desert while making sure that they have the lead over their competitors. And the top Indian finisher will get a free entry to the holy grail of the rally-raids – Dakar 2020. There’s something more on offer – the winner of the 2018 Indian Baja will be eligible for the 2019 Afriquia Merzouga Rally as well. While those are the prizes for the bikes, the top contender in the four-wheel category will be given a free entry to the 2019 edition of Maruti Suzuki Desert Storm. “The stature of India Baja in country’s motorsport scenario can be gauged from the fact that the number of people signing up continues to grow each year. These are very encouraging trends and I would thank the Indian motorsport fraternity for the love and acceptance they’ve shown towards this cross-country rally,” said Jayesh Desai, co-founder and director of Northern Motorsport.

The Indian Baja has seen many prominent faces such as J-Rod, Adrien Metge, Aravind KP, CS Santosh, R Nataraj and Abdul Wahid Tanveer. In fact, last year, Sherco-TVS Racing's Abdul Tanveer won the rally and got himself a direct entry in the Afriquia Merzouga Rally of 2018 and also in the 41st edition of the Dakar Rally which will be held next year. Expect participation from the Sherco-TVS Racing and Hero Motorsports teams again this year, while the Ang'ata Racing boys will also be taking part.

Next Story