You are here

Santosh retains lead while Aabhishek pips Rana after Leg 2 of Desert Storm

Leg 2 of the Desert Storm drew to a close yesterday, with CS Santosh and Suresh Rana continuing to dominate proceedings. A total of 136km was run between two stages (SS3 and SS4), one around Bikaner and one near Jaisalmer. Here are the results so far:

CS Santosh stayed at the top at the end of Leg 2, he finished SS3 and SS4 with a total time of 3:03:06. Close behind him was Angata Racing’s Aaron Mare who has made up time and is just 2 minutes behind Santosh. He was faster than Santosh on both SS3 and SS4 and clawed back crucial minutes to position himself well for the marathon stage. In third place is his Angata Racing teammate Sanjay Kumar with a total time of 3:21:27. TVS Racing still haven’t broken into the top three – Santolino Lorenzo put up some really good times to climb up the standings from eighth to fourth, while Abdul Wahid Tanveer is in fifth place.

The Xtreme class remains closely contested. Aabhishek Mishra put in better times than Team Maruti’s Suresh Rana to pip him from the lead, however, they remain within a minute of each other after four stages. Raj Singh Rathore climbs up in to third place and Gaurav Chiripal is in fourth place.
Leg 3 consists of one long marathon stage which takes place in the Sam dunes and is 347km long. Stay tuned for more updates from the Desert Storm.
Next Story