You are here

World Car of the Year finalists announced

The countdown has begun for the 2019 World Car of the Year with the announcement of the final shortlist of the car for the five categories including the World Car of the Year. An initial list of 40 passenger vehicles were considered this time. The jury of World Car of the Year includes automotive journalists from across the globe. This year’s is 86-member strong and includes six journalists from India.

The 2019 World Car of the Year winner will be selected from the following finalists:
Audi e-tron
BMW 3 Series
Ford Focus
Genesis G70
Hyundai Nexo
Jaguar I-PACE
Mercedes-Benz A-Class
Suzuki Jimny
Volvo S60/V60
Volvo XC40

Audi e-tron

The 2019 World Urban Car will be chosen from one of these top five finalists:
Audi A1
Hyundai AH2/Santro
Kia Soul
SEAT Arona
Suzuki Jimny

Hyundai Santro

The 2019 World Luxury Car top five finalists are as follows:
Audi A7
Audi Q8
BMW 8 Series
Mercedes-Benz CLS
Volkswagen Touareg
The 2019 World Performance Car top five finalists are:
Aston Martin Vantage
BMW M2 Competition
Hyundai Veloster N
McLaren 720S
Mercedes-Benz AMG 4-door Coupe
The 2019 World Green Car top five finalists are:
Audi e-tron
Honda Clarity Plug-In Hybrid
Hyundai Nexo
Jaguar I-Pace
Kia Niro EV
Again this year, the cars eligible for the 2019 World Car Design of the Year award could be any of the contenders competing in the six award categories.  A design panel consisting of seven world design experts was asked to review and establish a short-list of recommendations for the jurors.  The design experts were  Anne Asensio (France - Vice-President, Design - Dassault Systemes), Gernot Bracht (Germany - Pforzheim Design School),  Patrick le Quément (France - Designer and President of the Strategy Committee - The Sustainable Design School), Sam Livingstone (U.K.  - Car Design Research and Royal College of Art), Tom Matano (USA - School of Industrial Design at Academy of Art University in San Francisco), Gordon Murray (U.K. - Gordon Murray Design) and  Shiro Nakamura (Japan - CEO, Shiro Nakamura Design Associates Inc.).
The five finalists chosen by the design panel for the jurors’ final vote are:
Citroen C5 Aircross
Jaguar E Pace
Jaguar I PACE
Suzuki Jimny
Volvo XC40
The Road to World Car is an annual journey in partnership with the New York International Show. The official launch took place in Paris on September 19 last year. On March 5, during a stop at the Geneva Motor Show, the top three in the World finalists will be announced along with the 2019 World Car Person of the Year. The final winners of all six categories will be named at an awards ceremony that officially opens the New York show on April 17, 2019.

Now entering their 15th year, the annual World Car Awards are the number one awards program in the world for the sixth consecutive year based on Prime Research’s 2018 media report.  The awards were inaugurated in 2003, and officially launched in January 2004, to reflect the reality of the global marketplace, as well as to recognise and reward automotive excellence on an international scale.

Next Story