You are here

India's own X1 racing league to begin from October 2019

The Xtreme1 racing league or X1 racing league is India's very own racing championship. India's international car racers Armaan Ebrahim and Aditya Patel have teamed up to bring a custom-made, two-seater sports car racing league to India in October 2019.

It will be held in a mix of track and street circuits. The league will include eight city-based franchise teams, each comprising of 2 cars and 4 drivers. The organizers are planning to rope in well-known race drivers including former Formula One, Formula E, Indy 500, Le Mans and NASCAR drivers to the league.

There are plans to get 8 city-based franchises on board. Each team will comprise of one international male driver, one international female driver, one Indian international driver and one Indian domestic driver. Races will take place on Saturdays and Sundays. The races will be of 45 minutes duration and there will be 3 races per day, with innovative race formats. Pushing the theme of gender neutrality in sports, female drivers will race along with male drivers in this first-of-its-kind format.

The X1 league is backed and sanctioned by the Federation of Motor Sports Clubs of India (FMSCI), the governing body of motorsports in the country.

Next Story